A Clean Slate

My husband and I made a big decision earlier this month. After finding out that I wasn't pregnant again, a proper-heaving-shoulders-sobbing-session ensued in the car on our way to the Isle of Wight and we decided together that something HAD to change…

Alongside the not-getting-pregnant situation, I've also been suffering from perioral dermatitis (an uncomfortable and frankly unsightly rash around the mouth and chin, which apparently lots of women my age experience).

The only effective way to get rid of perioral dermatitis, if topical creams don't work, is to have a course of oral antibiotics, which I did not want to take as it is strongly recommended NOT to get pregnant whilst taking them as they can affect the foetal development.

After no joy using topical creams from the doctors, I made some massive changes to my skincare routine and lifestyle to try to combat the condition naturally but NOTHING worked!

I cut right back on eating dairy, switched to all natural shampoo and conditioner, gave up wearing make up, used natural cleanser and moisturiser only (no scrubs, masks, serums etc) and sourced fluoride free toothpaste. Tried piercing vitamin E capsules and using the contents on my face, applying rosehip seed oil, and even washing my face in mineral water only! Honestly, if I heard of a natural solution, I gave it a go. One happy side to this journey is that I have discovered some great natural beauty products which I will share in another blog post soon.

With the rash only getting worse, we decided together that we would put the baby making on hold and go for it with the antibiotics. Happily, nearly two weeks in, the rash has got so much better! I'm committed to seeing the full course through and that means three whole months of making sure I don't get pregnant.

I'm also going to take the opportunity of a few months off trying for a baby to have some dental work done which I've been putting off as well, as I've been irrationally worried about having anaesthetic injected in case that affected anything baby related.

So, my skin is getting better and the worries about getting pregnant have been taken away for now. Hopefully this gives my mind and my body a bit of space to recover, and be in a really good place to start trying again with a clean slate later in the year.

In the meantime I'm cherishing all my precious one-on-one time with little Rupert… He is growing up ridiculously quickly! Being able to chit chat away with him all day is an absolute joy. His adventurousness, curiosity about the world around him, the way he has to know how everything works, his singing, dancing and jumping, the sweetest cuddles and kisses. I'm one lucky Mummy.

Oh, and one more thing… I'm being really careful to take extra special care of my digestive health whilst on these antibiotics. That means eating natural probiotics such as yoghurt, kefir and fermented veggies like sauerkraut and kimchee. I'm tempted to start making my own fermented veggies so watch this space!

Leave a Reply

