Salted Honey & Almond Granola

A few months ago I made my own granola for the first time, and honestly could not believe how easy and delicious it was. Why have I been buying it for years?! And spending so much money on the good stuff!

 My general approach to granola making is to grab whatever nuts and seeds I can find, throw them in a bowl with oats, oil (coconut, olive, rapeseed), sweet stickiness (honey, maple, agave), mix it all up, scrape onto a baking tray and bake until it smells caramelly and toasty… Then add dried fruit to the cooked mixture. Mmmmmmmmmmmm.

I finally decided to do some proper weighing and measuring so I can share an actual recipe with you, and this one is the BEST yet – verified by my husband and my dad. Rupert seems quite partial as well.

A few notes about this recipe for those readers with little ones though… I use whole almonds in this recipe, but will crush them up with a rolling pin before giving it to Rupert as I’m not keen on him eating whole nuts in case of choking. Also I know that added salt isn’t recommended for children. On the whole Rupert doesn’t have salt added to his food, but I’m happy for him to have a little sprinkle of this on some yoghurt and fruit as this recipe is so wildly elevated in flavour with a some delicious flakes of Maldon Sea Salt!

I’ve used almonds in this recipe as they are a great source of Vitamin E which is helpful for fertility.

Ingredients: 200g oats, 100g almonds, 100g mixed seeds (I used a Waitrose mix containing pumpkin, sunflower, sesame and linseed), 5 tbsp coldpressed rapeseed oil, 3 tbsp clear runny honey, pinch of Maldon sea salt flakes, 75g dried fruit (I have a great Cherries and Berries mix from Lidl but straight up classic raisins are so good too)

1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celsius (fan)

2. Line a large baking tray with a reusable nonstick liner or some foil if you like

3. Mix all the ingredients, except the dried fruit, in a large mixing bowl – a little tip is you use your tablespoon to measure the oil first then the honey, as then the honey won’t stick to the spoon

4. When it is all mixed up, pour the mixture onto your prepared tray and bake in the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes

5. When it’s golden and smelling beautifully baked, remove from the oven and sprinkle over the dried fruit

6. Leave to cool – it might stick together a bit so just bash it into pieces with your wooden spoon and store I an airtight container

This quantity will last us for a week if we are lucky, my husband will take it into work most days for his breakfast and I will have a serving most days either for breakfast or pudding or a snack, plus sprinkles for Rupert. 

Leave a Reply

